Inside SCI-Arc

    The SCI-Arc Gallery is open daily, 10am-6pm.


EXHIBITIONS: Fri, November 30, 2012

Centre Pompidou Exhibition Symposium: Advances in Architectural Geometry at Centre Pompidou, Paris

Friday, November 30, 7pm
W. M. Keck Lecture Hall

Join SCI-Arc faculty members Herwig Baumgartner, Hernan Diaz Alonso, Marcelyn Gow, Florencia Pita, Peter Testa and Andrew Atwood in a discussion about some of the most interesting and challenging experiments currently being carried out at SCI-Arc.

The AAG symposium presents theoretical works and practices linked to new geometrical development applicable to architecture. The event aims to gather the diverse components of the contemporary architectural tendencies which push the building envelope towards free form and respond to the multiple current design challenges with a renewed mathematical rigor.

AAG has become a reference in the professional field and is supported by the direct participation of some of the most renowned architectural design and engineering offices along with academic laboratories. SCI-Arc was invited alongside 15 world-renowned architecture schools including the Architectural Association, Ecole Spéciale d’Architecture, Harvard GSD, MIT, Princeton University, and more, to submit a video presentation dedicated to recent developments in architectural geometry and computation.

This video presentation ran without interruption from September 27-30 in the main entrance lobby of the Centre Pompidou in Paris.

SCI-Arc Presents "Advances in Architectural Geometry" Film, Centre Pompidou, Paris from SCI-Arc on Vimeo.

Directors, Faculty and Alumi Win 2012 AIA│LA Awards

The recently announced 2012 AIA│LA Presidential, Design and NextLA Awards from the Los Angeles chapter of the nation’s leading professional membership association for licensed architects, emerging professionals and allied partners, recognized several SCI-Arc faculty, alumni and leadership for their contribution to advancing the architecture profession and their support to architectural initiatives in Los Angeles.

SCI-Arc Director Eric Owen Moss Receives the 25 Year Award for the Petal House

Presidential award winners included SCI-Arc Director Eric Owen Moss, who received the 25-Year Award for his design of the Petal House; faculty members Jenny Wu and Dwayne Oyler of Oyler Wu Collaborative, recipients of the Emerging Practice award; Graduate Programs Chair Hernan Diaz Alonso, recognized with the Educator Award; and visiting faculty member Julie Eizenberg and partner Hank Koning of Koning Eizenberg Architecture, awarded the 2012 AIA│LA Gold Medal.

The Presidential Awards recognize select individuals who take leadership roles in their profession. AIA|LA President Stuart Magruder (M.Arch ‘97) stated, "The difficulty in selecting one winner in each category is amazing; we truly have an embarrassment of architectural riches here in Los Angeles!"

Design Awards went to faculty members Michael Folonis (B.Arch ’78) of Michael W. Folonis Architects, Marcelo Spina of PATTERNS, and Peter Zellner of ZELLNERPLUS. The Cultural Affairs Commission Award was received by alumnus Nick Seierup (B.Arch ‘79), who serves on the SCI-Arc Board of Trustees.

NextLA Award winners included Angela Brooks (M.Arch ‘91) of Brooks+Scarpa; Griffin Enright Architects’ Margaret Griffin, SCI-Arc faculty, and John Enright, SCI-Arc Undergraduate Program Chair; alumni Scott Hughes (M.Arch ‘97) and John Umbanhowar (M.Arch ‘98) of Hughesumbanhowar Architects; SCI-Arc trustee Bill Fain of Johnson Fain; alumna Jennifer Marmon (M.Arch ’01) of Platform for Architecture + Research; and faculty member Marcelo Spina or PATTERNS.

Award winners were celebrated at the AIA│LA annual gala held October 22 at the Broad Stage at the Santa Monica Performing Arts Center, in a ceremony hosted by musician and architecture aficionado Moby.