Inside SCI-Arc


04.05.10 | W.M. Keck Lecture Hall, SCI-Arc
AIA | LA's 2010 Arch Is__ Young Architectural Talent Awards

Monday, April 5
W.M. Keck Lecture Hall

Reception: 6pm
Winners lecture/panel discussion: 7pm

Each winner will present a lecture, followed by a panel discussion of all entries and what they represent for the future directions of architecture. The panel will be composed of the 2010 Arch Is__ jury: Scott Johnson FAIA, Principal of Johnson Fain; Christopher Hawthorne, Architectural Critic for the LA Times; Brooke Hodge, Independent Curator; and Hitoshi Abe, Chair of the Dept. of Architecture and Urban Design at UCLA. The panel will be moderated by John Kaliski, AIA.

The jury also awarded two certificates of Honorable Mention to SCI-Arc alumni:
Cathy Johnson (M.Arch '05) & Rebecca Rudolph (M.Arch '00), Design Bitches
Kevin Wronske (B.Arch '92), Heyday Partnership

The Arch Is__ Young Architectural Talent competition was established by the Los Angeles chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA LA) to recognize young firms that are on the leading edge of architecture. Entrants were required to submit a portfolio and an essay on their understanding of architecture.

Read more about the winners >>