Inside SCI-Arc


Alumni Named Fellows of the AIA

Two SCI-Arc alumni, Dean Nota and Edmund Einy, are being advanced to Fellowship in the National American Institute of Architects.

Nota (B.Arch '74) was a student in the founding years of SCI-Arc and later became an instructor. His firm, Dean Nota Architect, is located in Hermosa Beach. Einy (B.Arch '83) practices with Gkk Works in Pasadena. They will be honored at a ceremony at the 2010 National AIA Convention in Miami in June.

Nota and Einy join the ranks of SCI-Arc directors, founders and alumni elected AIA Fellows since the program's inception.

Eric Owen Moss, SCI-Arc director became an AIA Fellow in 1992; Ray Kappe, founding director, in 1969; Michael Rotondi (B.Arch ’79), second director, in 1997; Thom Mayne, founding faculty member, in 2004; and Greg Walsh, faculty member, in the early 80s.

Alumni Nick Seierup (B.Arch '79) and Steve McConnell (B.Arch '84) became Fellows in 2006; Micheal Folonis (B.Arch '78) and David Hertz (B.Arch '83) in 2008; and Peter Grueneisen (M.Arch '90) in 2009. Alum Shigeru Ban of Japan became an Honorary Fellow in 2004.

The College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects, founded in 1952, is composed of members of the Institute who are elected to Fellowship by a jury of their peers. Fellowship is one of the highest honors the AIA can bestow upon a member. Elevation to Fellowship not only recognizes the achievements of the architect as an individual but also elevates before the public and the profession those architects who have made significant contributions to architecture and to society.

For more details about the AIA College of Fellows and the National AIA 2010 Convention, click HERE