Inside SCI-Arc


SCI-Arc Faculty, Alumni Awarded AIA-LA Young Talent Honors

Three SCI-Arc faculty members, Dwayne Oyler and Jenny Wu of the Oyler Wu Collaborative, and Tom Wiscombe of Emergent, are the winners of the AIA-LA's 2010 Arch Is_ Young Architectural Talent award.

The competition was established to recognize young firms that are on the leading edge of architecture. Entrants were required to submit a portfolio and an essay on their understanding of architecture.

All three winners are members of the Design Studio Faculty at SCI-Arc.

The jury also awarded two honorable mentions to SCI-Arc alumni Kevin Wronske (B.Arch '02) of Heyday Partnership and Cathy Johnson (M.Arch '05) and Rebecca Rudolph (M.Arch '00) of Design, Bitches.

The jury was composed of Scott Johnson, FAIA, Principal of Johnson Fain; Christopher Hawthorne, architectural critic for the Los Angeles Times; curator Brooke Hodge; and Hitoshi Abe, Chair of the Department of Architecture and Urban Design at UCLA.

The awards will be presented Monday, April 5, 2010, 7 pm at SCI-Arc.

Wiscombe is SCI-Arc's Applied Studies Coordinator and teaches graduate studios and seminars in tectonics and other subjects. He founded Emergent in 1999. Earlier, while at Coop Himmelblau, he was senior designer for BMW World in Munich. Among Emergent's installations was Dragonfly in the SCI-Arc Gallery in 2007, in collaboration with Buro Happold.

Oyler is SCI-Arc's Undergraduate Core Coordinator and faculty representative on the Board of Directors. He established Oyler Wu Collaborative with Wu in 2000. Oyler also worked in the office of Toshiko Mori, and collaborated with Lebbeus Woods on several projects.

Wu teaches primarily undergraduate studios and seminars at SCI-Arc. Prior to forming the Oyler Wu Collaborative, she worked at firms including Architecture Research Office and Gluckman Mayner Architects. Oyler Wu Collaborative exhibitions include Live Wire in the SCI-Arc Gallery in 2008.

To see the winning competition entries and samples of current work, click Emergent and Oyler-Wu Collaborative.

Other Links: on the award >>