Inside SCI-Arc


SCI-Arc Gallery Exhibition Book Debuts December 3

SCI-Arc announces the book release of SCI-Arc Gallery 2002-10, produced by SCI-Arc Press and published by AADCU, Beijing. A book discussion will be held at SCI-Arc on Friday, December 3, 2010, at 7:00 pm. Panelists include Eric Owen Moss, SCI-Arc director, Joseph Rosa, director of the University of Michigan Museum of Art, John Enright of Griffin Enright Architects and Andrew Zago of Zago Architecture. A reception will follow.

Since 2002, SCI-Arc has commissioned international and local architects and designers to test their ideas through unique site-specific gallery installations. As part of these projects, each led a workshop in which SCI-Arc students collaborated in the fabrication and construction of the installation.

Directed by Eric Owen Moss, the ongoing exhibition series is documented from ideation to realization in SCI-Arc Gallery 2002-10, a 670-page volume of the first 35 installations. Featured is a broad, yet idiosyncratic collection of today's most thought-provoking architects and designers – emerging/established, local/global, tangible/theoretical.

    What we know is our intention.

    We intend to begin again, and again, and again.

    We intend to sustain the fragile idea, the tentative thought,
    the preliminary sensibility, the not-altogether clear hypothesis.

    We intend to disestablish.

    So we opened a gallery.

    – Eric Owen Moss, from the introduction to SCI-Arc Gallery 2002-10

Featured architects and designers are Office dA, Zago Architecture, Xefirotarch: Hernan Diaz Alonso, Michele Saee, RoTo Architects, Raimund Abraham with Alexis Rochas, Marta Malé-Alemany, Kol/Mac Studio, Griffin Enright Architects, George Yu Architects, Guy Nordenson and Associates, Structural Engineers, Darin Johnstone and Scott Parker, Jones, Partners: Architecture, Patterns: Marcelo Spina, Central Office of Architecture, Steven Holl Architects, Do|Su Architecture: Doris Sung, a|Um Studio: Ed Keller and Carla Leitao, Florencia Pita, Neil M. Denari Architects, Daly Genik Architects, Jakob + MacFarlane, Eisenman Architects, Emergent with Buro Happold, Hodgetts + Fung, Michael Maltzan Architecture, Slap!: Jean Michel Crettaz, Atelier Manferdini, Greg Lynn FORM, IwamotoScott Architecture, Oyler Wu Collaborative, Susanne Zottl, Eric Owen Moss Architects, Joe Day: Deegan-Day Design, and I/O: Alexis Rochas.

SCI-Arc Gallery 2002-10 was supported in part by generous funding from the Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts and the LEF Foundation.

More information, including architects' and designers' biographies, exhibition descriptions and images, can be found in the Exhibitions Archive section of our website.