Inside SCI-Arc


Alumni Help Raise $30,000 for SCI-Arc at LA Modernism Show Preview Gala

Thanks to the tremendous support from SCI-Arc alumni who helped host the
LA Modernism Show Preview Gala held at Barker Hangar in Santa Monica on April 30, over $30,000 was raised to benefit the promising architecture and design students at SCI-Arc.

More than 300 guests attended the fundraising event, including renown fashion designer Trina Turk and celebrity guests Seal and Heidi Klum.

(L to R) Yasmeen Kahn (M.Arch '08), Aviva Carmy (M.Arch '80), Melissa Kim (M.Arch '08) and Susan Gee-Wilson (B.Arch '00)

The annual Modernism Show event series takes place in select cities including Palm Springs, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, and Miami and showcases exhibitors of modern furniture and 20th century decorative and fine arts. The weekend-long show kicks-off with an exclusive preview gala party, where ticket sales benefit a non-profit organization. This year, SCI-Arc joined the roster of institutions, including SFMOMA, selected as the benefiting organization for the show's annual California-held edition.

The evening was a total success thanks to SCI-Arc host committee members including Benjamin Ball (B.Arch '93) and Gaston Nogues (B.Arch '93), Ball-Nogues Studio; Barbara Bestor (M.Arch '92), Barbara Bestor Architecture; Annie Chu (B.Arch '83) and Rick Gooding (B.Arch '84), CHU+GOODING Architects; Cara Lee (M.Arch '96) and Stephan Mundwiler (M.Arch '95), Lee + Mundwiler Architects; Mehdi Rafaty (B.Arch '88) and Mandi Rafaty (B.Arch '89), Tag Front; Jennifer Siegal (M.Arch '94), Office of Mobile Design; Elissa Scrafano (M.Arch '90) of Scrafano Architects; and Christian Schulz (M.Arch '01) and Adam Goldstein (M.Arch '01) of [Studio Collective]. The alumni committee was instrumental in shaping the list of attendees by lending their names to invitations and press materials, as well as promoting the event within their professional networks.

Alumni volunteers on the night of the gala were also on hand to greet guests and process additional ticket sales benefiting the school. Special thanks to Neal Borsuk (M.Arch '89), Dana Cantelmo (M.Arch '89), Aviva Carmy (M.Arch '80), Elizabeth Sutton Eshel (M.Arch '93), Susan Gee-Wilson (B.Arch '00), Yasmeen Kahn (M.Arch '08), Melissa Kim (M.Arch '08), Merritt Evan Raff (M.Arch '93), Anne Troutman (M.Arch '83), John Sharp Winston (M.Arch '04), and Lucas Worthing (B.Arch '08) for generously donating their time.

For a review of the LA Modernism Show, go to Dwell's blog >>