Skip to main content

The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) accredits the professional degrees in architecture offered by SCI-Arc: the B.Arch degree, and the M.Arch degree offered through the M.Arch 1 and M.Arch 2 programs.

In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a preprofessional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The Southern California Institute of Architecture (SCI-Arc) offers the following NAAB-accredited degree programs:

B. Arch. (172 undergraduate credits)
M. Arch 1. (undergraduate degree + 111 graduate credits)
M. Arch 2. (undergraduate degree + 78 graduate credits)

Next accreditation visit for all programs: 2026

Past reports:
2011 Architecture Program Report (APR)
2014 SCI-Arc Interim Progress Report
2018 NAAB Visiting Team Report and Action Letter
2017 Architecture Program Report (APR)