Skip to main content

Main Event 2022: Celebrating SCI-Arc’s First 50 Years, Supporting Students for the Next 50


April 30, 2022 at 6:00pm

Gala Dinner and Awards


  • Frank Gehry
  • Alison Saar
  • Walt Disney Imagineering
  • The Herald Examiner Building/Georgetown Company 
  • Celebrating founding director Ray Kappe alongside founding faculty Thom Mayne, Jim Stafford, Glen Small, Ahde Lahti, Bill Simonian, and Shelly Kappe

50th Anniversary Celebration Party

  • Commemoration of SCI-Arc's 50th anniversary
  • Recognition of former directors Ray Kappe, Michael Rotondi, Neil M. Denari, and Eric Owen Moss
Messiah selfie with butterfly

For 50 years, SCI-Arc has been restless, bold, and optimistic. We celebrate the tenacity of the figures and forces that created a movement never before seen in architecture education, which embraces the audacity of ever-shifting visions ahead. This year marks SCI-Arc's 50th anniversary, which will be commemorated with free and accessible events and programs taking place throughout 2022.

On April 30th, friends and family of SCI-Arc are invited to gather on campus for Main Event 2022, an al fresco celebration of the outrageous creativity that for 50 years has propelled our school’s thought leadership in architecture and design. The most spectacular affair of the academic year, Main Event benefits the SCI-Arc Scholarship Endowment, with net proceeds empowering more students to access the world-renowned school of innovation and architectural thinking. Our Main Event gala dinner and awards is SCI-Arc's primary fundraiser supporting student scholarships, allowing us to sustain our commitment to creating inclusive opportunities for students of all backgrounds, including those from communities underrepresented in architecture, to study at SCI-Arc.

SCI-Arc's special 50th anniversary Main Event is guaranteed to be remembered for years to come. At our gala dinner and awards presentation, we are thrilled to honor inimitable creative leaders including architect Frank  Gehry, visual artist Alison Saar, Walt Disney Imagineering, and the Herald Examiner Building/Georgetown Company. Guests won’t want to miss the lively 50th anniversary celebration party with music and special surprises. In addition, the night will feature special acknowledgments and presentations, as well as the groundbreaking work of SCI-Arc students on display at a preview of Spring Show, curated by SCI-Arc faculty William Virgil, Kordae Henry, and Jeremy Kamal Hartley.

SCI-Arc takes the lead in reimagining the limits of architecture, reflecting on our first 50 years to propel us into the future, and producing the next generation of risk-takers who will push us towards the potential of the next 50 years. We look forward to reconnecting with and expressing our gratitude to all who have played a role in making SCI-Arc the remarkable school it is today, while reveling in the accomplishments of SCI-Arc's first 50 years.

Sponsors and Friends

Spotlight Sponsors 

  • The Georgetown Company
  • Lise Strickler and Mark Gallogly
  • Tom Strickler
  • Tim Disney

          Sustaining Sponsors

          • Suzanne Boda and George Grindahl
          • Mary Blodgett and Carlton Calvin
          • Hernán Díaz Alonso and Florencia Pita
          • Griffin Enright Architects
          • Gensler
          • STUN
          • Walt Disney Imagineering
          • CO Architects
          • Eric Owen Moss Architects
          • Ellen and Dan Strickler
          • Elise Jaffe + Jeffrey Brown
          • Related California
          • Casper Mads Clausen
          • Joe Day and Nina Hachigian

          Contributing Sponsors

          • AARP
          • Burke, Williams & Sorensen LLP
          • Roy and Janet Choi 
          • Bestor Architecture
          • Bill and Jennifer Fain
          • The Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation
          • Hathaway Dinwiddie
          • Hearst
          • Herman Miller
          • Hsinming Fung and Craig Hodgetts
          • Linear City Development
          • Matt Construction
          • Trevor McFedries
          • Moss Adams
          • Abigail Scheuer
          • Abby Sher
          • Shubin Donaldson/Robin Donaldson
          • SOM
          • SCAAA/Steven Song
          • John Winston Studio
          • Warner Records
          • Aliso


          • Bernstein Private Wealth Management
          • Craig Biggi
          • Bolton/R. Lee Walker 
          • Edythe Broad
          • Citadel EHS
          • Kim Colin
          • William Hogan
          • DREZNER Architecture, LLC
          • Heidi Duckler and Dan Rosenfeld 
          • EYRC Architects
          • Frederick Fisher and Partners
          • Elizabeth Gibb
          • Hauser & Wirth
          • Joni and Steve Martino
          • Perkins & Will
          • Plant Prefab
          • Ian Robertson
          • Dan Swartz
          • Swinerton
          • Lee and Susan Tabler
          • Stephanie Zeigler
          • U.S. Bank
          • Jim and Margaret Lynn
          • Peter Grueneisen
          • Jitendra Amatya
          • Dan Weinreber
          • Chu—Gooding
          • Kevin Daly Architects
          • Matthew Baker and Russell Fortmeyer
          • Aviva Carmy
          • Marcelo Spina and Georgina Huljich
          • Spinagu
          • Glavovic Studio
          • RIOS

          We hope you will be able to join us on the date the Main Event is rescheduled. If you would like to discuss or adjust your sponsorship, please reach

          We hope you will be able to join us on the date the Main Event is rescheduled. If you are unable to do so and would like a refund, you may reach out to us at