Skip to main content

Main Event 2021: Acts of Optimism

May 01, 2021 at 6:00pm
May 01, 2021 at 8:00pm

Throughout the last year, the essential vibrancy of our creative community has remained and thrived even as we wait to be able to come together again in person. Our friends and neighbors have continued to stay apart out of a resolute desire to care for each other as we persevere one day at a time.

At SCI-Arc, we’ve been creating the world anew, the past months brimming will explorations of resilience and projects beaming with hope, reflecting electrifying visions for the future. It is through this lens of optimism that we are heartened to see many others creating alongside us. This year’s Main Event scholarship gala will benefit and uplift the driving forces that unite and excite us through their radical and incandescent work.

SCI-Arc facade green overgrowth
Andrew Hu, Fiction & Entertainment, '21

Main Event 2021 will be unlike anything you have seen from SCI-Arc yet. As a fundraising event for student scholarships, SCI-Arc will present an evening of unique programs with artists and creative innovators across disciplines about the role of optimism in our collective future, featuring SCI-Arc alumna Barbara Bestor, Pritzker Prize-winning architect Peter Zumthor, LAXART executive director Hamza Walker, film director and educator Kordae Henry, SCI-Arc design faculty member Mira Henry, and photographic artist and writer Janna Ireland. The live, virtual experience with a stunning lineup of guests will be spectacular, inspiring, and thrilling. Net proceeds from Main Event 2021 will benefit the SCI-Arc Scholarship Endowment.

Sponsors and Friends

Spotlight Sponsor

  • Lise Strickler & Mark Gallogly

Sustaining Sponsors

  • Ellen & Dan Strickler
  • Morphosis
  • Tom Strickler

Contributing Sponsors

  • Abby Sher
  • Abigail Scheuer
  • Barbara Bestor/Bestor Architecture
  • Bill and Jennifer Fain
  • CO Architects
  • DLA Piper/Jerry Neuman
  • Florencia Pita and Hernán Díaz Alonso
  • Hassan Majd/HM DG INC.
  • Hensel Phelps
  • Linear City
  • Margaret Griffin and John Enright/Griffin Enright Architects
  • Mary Blodgett and Carlton Calvin
  • Perkins + Will
  • Roy and Janet Choi
  • Sam Teller
  • Steven Song/SCAAA
  • Suzanne Boda and George Grindahl
  • Thornton Tomasetti
  • Tim Disney
  • Wurstküche


  • U.S. Bank
  • The Rosalinde and Arthur Gilbert Foundation
  • Anthony Ferguson
  • Arup
  • Bolton/R. Lee Walker
  • Daltile
  • Daniel Swartz
  • Ehrlich Yanai Rhee Chaney Architects
  • Eli and Edye Broad
  • Eric Owen Moss Architects
  • Frederick Fisher and Partners
  • Greg Otto and Elizabeth Gabbay
  • Heidi Duckler and Dan Rosenfeld
  • Helyda Castellanos
  • Hsinming Fung & Craig Hodgetts
  • Joe Day and Nina Hachigian
  • Kate O’Neal
  • Lori Peters/AvAirPros
  • Olivier Sommerhalder
  • Peter Grueneisen
  • R. Lee Walker
  • Snyder Diamond
  • Studio Shamshiri
  • Sue and Tom Gosney
  • The Max Collaborative – Kevin Ratner
  • Thomas Safran and Associates
  • Trina Turk

    For information about sponsorship opportunities, please click here.